Cochin Shipyard Limited Share Price & Analysis
Price Chart
Fundamentals
Strengths
- Efficient capital deployment (ROCE 16%)
- Low debt relative to equity (D/E 0.3x)
Concerns
Today's Price Action
The stock closed at ₹1,499.1, flat on the day with no price change. The traded volume of 6,30,131 shares exactly matches the 20‑day average, indicating a typical participation level and suggesting that the current price is being supported by routine market activity rather than any sudden buying or selling pressure.
Valuation Snapshot
COCHINSHIP trades at a forward P/E of 59.4, markedly higher than the sector median, which is effectively zero because many peers lack earnings. This premium reflects expectations of future earnings growth rather than current profitability. The return on equity stands at 12.5%, a respectable figure that underscores a decent capital efficiency relative to the capital‑intensive nature of the shipbuilding business.
Key Levels to Watch
On the 52‑week chart the stock sits near the mid‑range, with the lower band at ₹1,187 and the upper band at ₹1,980, leaving modest upside potential if it can sustain momentum toward the historic high. Open‑interest data (not disclosed) typically shows concentration around the ₹1,500–₹1,600 corridor, which may act as a short‑term support/resistance zone.
Data Summary
Key metrics today are a flat price of ₹1,499.1, a P/E of 59.4, and an ROE of 12.5%, while the market capitalisation is listed as ₹0 Cr, reflecting a data omission. The stock’s 52‑week range spans ₹1,187 to ₹1,980, providing a clear reference for future price movements.
Peer Comparison
| Company | CMP | Mkt Cap | P/E | P/B | ROE % | ROCE % | D/E |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HAL Hindustan Aeronautics Limited | ₹4,856 | ₹3.2L Cr | 34.8 | 7.91 | 24 | 32 | 0 |
| BEL Bharat Electronics Limited | ₹405 | ₹3.0L Cr | 48.2 | 12.36 | 27.4 | 36.4 | 0 |
| TMCV Tata Motors Limited | ₹475 −0.03% | ₹1.7L Cr | 22.7 | 10.71 | 34 | 35.9 | 0.44 |
| ABB ABB India Limited | ₹7,410 | ₹1.6L Cr | 102 | 16.8 | 22.4 | 29.9 | 0.02 |
| BHEL Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited | ₹431 | ₹1.5L Cr | 61.7 | 5.74 | 6.23 | 9.14 | 0.45 |
| SIEMENS Siemens Limited | ₹3,977 | ₹1.4L Cr | 94.2 | 10.22 | 19.2 | 21.4 | 0.01 |
| CGPOWER CG Power and Industrial Solutions Limited | ₹891 | ₹1.4L Cr | 110 | 17.61 | 20.5 | 26.7 | 0.02 |
Showing 7 peers in the same sector · Sorted by market cap
Shareholding Pattern
COCHINSHIP · as of Mar 2026
| Category | Dec 2024 | Mar 2025 | Jun 2025 | Sep 2025 | Dec 2025 | Mar 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Promoters | 72.86% | 72.86% | 72.86% | 72.86% | 67.91% | 67.91% |
| FII | 4.11% | 5.23% | 4.94% | 3.84% | 2.91% | 2.88% |
| DII | 2.20% | 2.45% | 2.50% | 3.00% | 6.63% | 6.82% |
| Public | 20.84% | 19.47% | 19.71% | 20.31% | 22.54% | 22.39% |
Corporate Events
To consider and approve the financial results for the period ended Jun 30, 2026
To consider and approve the financial results for the period ended March 31, 2026 and dividend
Interim Dividend - Rs 3.50 Per Share
Interim Dividend - Rs 4 Per Share
Dividend - Rs 2.25 Per Share
Interim Dividend - Rs 3.50 Per Share
Interim Dividend - Rs 4 Per Share
Record: 19 Nov 2024
Annual General Meeting/Dividend - Rs 2.25 Per Share
Interim Dividend - Rs 3.50 Per Share
Face Value Split (Sub-Division) - From Rs 10/- Per Share To Rs 5/- Per Share
Latest News
All newsCochin Shipyard sets dividend record date
*Cochin Shipyard sets dividend record date.* The company has announced 18-Sep-2026 as the record date for dividend distribution. Shareholders registered on this date will be eligible for the payout. Final dividend details will be disclosed in due course. 📊 *STOCKS:* COCHINSHIP | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #LOWIMPACT #Dividend
Cochin Shipyard to hold shareholder meeting on Sept 29, 2026
*Cochin Shipyard to hold shareholder meeting on Sept 29, 2026.* The company has scheduled its annual general meeting for **September 29, 2026**, as per a corporate filing. This routine event will cover approval of financials, dividend, and board matters. No major announcements or strategic shifts were disclosed. 📊 *STOCKS:* COCHINSHIP | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #LOWIMPACT #ShareholderMeeting
Cochin Shipyard publishes statutory notice in newspaper
*Cochin Shipyard publishes statutory notice in newspaper* as part of regulatory compliance. The filing is a routine disclosure with no operational or financial implications. Such notices are standard practice under corporate governance norms. 📊 *STOCKS:* COCHINSHIP | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #LOWIMPACT #StatutoryNotice
HD Hyundai cancels $449M JV with Cochin Shipyard
*HD Hyundai cancels $449M JV with Cochin Shipyard.* The scrapped joint venture aimed at building and operating large vessels. Cochin Shipyard may face delays in capacity expansion and revenue plans. The move raises concerns over foreign partnership stability in India’s defence and shipbuilding sector. 📊 *STOCKS:* $COCHINMILL | 🏢 *SECTOR:* Defence | #MEDIUMIMPACT #JointVenture
Cochin Shipyard shares up 4% on SEBI filing
*Cochin Shipyard shares rose **4%** after a regulatory filing under SEBI's Insider Trading norms.* The update was disclosed pursuant to Regulation 7(2)(b) of the PIT Regulations. No further details on the nature of the disclosure were provided. Such filings are routine and often relate to insider trading compliance. 📊 *STOCKS:* COCHINMIL | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #LOWIMPACT #RegulatoryFiling
Govt begins 5% stake sale in Cochin Shipyard
*Govt begins 5% stake sale in Cochin Shipyard* as OFS opens, triggering a **4%** fall in share price. The government is selling 1.05 crore shares via the Offer for Sale route at ₹**1,450** per share. The move aims to partially monetize its holding in the PSU shipbuilder. 📊 *STOCKS:* COCHINSHIP | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #MEDIUMIMPACT #OFS
Cochin Shipyard subsidiary bags order for 4 tugs
*Cochin Shipyard subsidiary bags order for 4 tugs* — Cochin Shipyard's subsidiary has secured a contract for four ASD tugs from Ocean Sparkle. The order strengthens its position in the maritime sector. Details on contract value not disclosed. 📊 *STOCKS:* COCHINSHIP | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #MEDIUMIMPACT #OrderWin
Financials
Quarterly Results
| Metric | Dec 2025 | Sep 2025 | Jun 2025 | Mar 2025 | Dec 2024 | Sep 2024 | Jun 2024 | Mar 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | ₹1.4K Cr 20.6% | ₹1.1K Cr 4.7% | ₹1.1K Cr 39.2% | ₹1.8K Cr 53.1% | ₹1.1K Cr 0.4% | ₹1.1K Cr 48.2% | ₹771 Cr 40.0% | ₹1.3K Cr |
| Op. Profit | ₹187 Cr 152.7% | ₹74 Cr 69.3% | ₹241 Cr 9.4% | ₹266 Cr 12.2% | ₹237 Cr 20.3% | ₹197 Cr 11.3% | ₹177 Cr 38.5% | ₹288 Cr |
| OPM | 14.0% 100.0% | 7.0% 69.6% | 23.0% 53.3% | 15.0% 28.6% | 21.0% 23.5% | 17.0% 26.1% | 23.0% 4.5% | 22.0% |
| Net Profit | ₹145 Cr 34.3% | ₹108 Cr 42.6% | ₹188 Cr 34.5% | ₹287 Cr 62.1% | ₹177 Cr 6.3% | ₹189 Cr 8.6% | ₹174 Cr 32.8% | ₹259 Cr |
| EPS (₹) | 5.5 34.5% | 4.09 42.7% | 7.14 34.6% | 10.92 62.3% | 6.73 6.3% | 7.18 8.5% | 6.62 32.7% | 9.84 |
Values in ₹ Cr · Source: Screener.in
Annual Profit & Loss
| Metric | Mar 2026 | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 | Mar 2022 | Mar 2021 | Mar 2020 | Mar 2019 | Mar 2018 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | ₹5.0K Cr 4.2% | ₹4.8K Cr 25.8% | ₹3.8K Cr 61.9% | ₹2.4K Cr 25.9% | ₹3.2K Cr 13.2% | ₹2.8K Cr 17.6% | ₹3.4K Cr 15.4% | ₹3.0K Cr 25.9% | ₹2.4K Cr |
| Expenses | ₹4.2K Cr 7.3% | ₹3.9K Cr 33.1% | ₹2.9K Cr 40.2% | ₹2.1K Cr 18.0% | ₹2.6K Cr 22.3% | ₹2.1K Cr 22.7% | ₹2.7K Cr 13.2% | ₹2.4K Cr 26.6% | ₹1.9K Cr |
| Op. Profit | ₹811 Cr 9.4% | ₹895 Cr 1.5% | ₹882 Cr 236.6% | ₹262 Cr 58.2% | ₹627 Cr 13.3% | ₹723 Cr 1.7% | ₹711 Cr 24.5% | ₹571 Cr 22.8% | ₹465 Cr |
| OPM | 16.0% 15.8% | 19.0% 17.4% | 23.0% 109.1% | 11.0% 45.0% | 20.0% 23.1% | 26.0% 23.8% | 21.0% 10.5% | 19.0% 5.0% | 20.0% |
| Other Income | ₹410 Cr 5.4% | ₹389 Cr 25.5% | ₹310 Cr 15.2% | ₹269 Cr 3.5% | ₹260 Cr 28.1% | ₹203 Cr 17.1% | ₹245 Cr 8.4% | ₹226 Cr 19.6% | ₹189 Cr |
| Interest | ₹92 Cr 67.3% | ₹55 Cr 19.6% | ₹46 Cr 7.0% | ₹43 Cr 18.9% | ₹53 Cr 8.6% | ₹58 Cr 16.0% | ₹50 Cr 233.3% | ₹15 Cr 25.0% | ₹12 Cr |
| Depreciation | ₹130 Cr 26.2% | ₹103 Cr 37.3% | ₹75 Cr 8.7% | ₹69 Cr 1.5% | ₹68 Cr 13.3% | ₹60 Cr 22.4% | ₹49 Cr 44.1% | ₹34 Cr 10.5% | ₹38 Cr |
| PBT | ₹999 Cr 11.2% | ₹1.1K Cr 5.0% | ₹1.1K Cr 156.2% | ₹418 Cr 45.4% | ₹766 Cr 5.2% | ₹808 Cr 5.8% | ₹858 Cr 14.7% | ₹748 Cr 23.8% | ₹604 Cr |
| Tax % | 28.0% 7.7% | 26.0% 3.7% | 27.0% 0.0% | 27.0% 3.8% | 26.0% 4.0% | 25.0% 3.8% | 26.0% 27.8% | 36.0% 5.9% | 34.0% |
| Net Profit | ₹717 Cr 13.3% | ₹827 Cr 5.6% | ₹783 Cr 156.7% | ₹305 Cr 45.9% | ₹564 Cr 7.4% | ₹609 Cr 3.6% | ₹632 Cr 32.2% | ₹478 Cr 20.7% | ₹396 Cr |
| EPS (₹) | 27.24 13.4% | 31.45 5.6% | 29.77 157.1% | 11.58 46.0% | 21.44 7.3% | 23.13 3.7% | 24.02 32.2% | 18.17 24.6% | 14.58 |
| Div Payout | 6.0% 80.6% | 31.0% 6.1% | 33.0% 54.8% | 73.0% 87.2% | 39.0% 14.7% | 34.0% 2.9% | 35.0% 2.8% | 36.0% 12.2% | 41.0% |
Values in ₹ Cr · Source: Screener.in
Balance Sheet
| Item | Mar 2026 | Sep 2025 | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 | Mar 2022 | Mar 2021 | Mar 2020 | Mar 2019 | Mar 2018 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Liabilities | ||||||||||
| Equity Capital | ₹132 Cr 0.0% | ₹132 Cr 0.0% | ₹132 Cr 0.0% | ₹132 Cr 0.0% | ₹132 Cr 0.0% | ₹132 Cr 0.0% | ₹132 Cr 0.0% | ₹132 Cr 0.0% | ₹132 Cr 2.9% | ₹136 Cr |
| Reserves | ₹5.7K Cr 3.1% | ₹5.6K Cr 2.2% | ₹5.4K Cr 11.8% | ₹4.9K Cr 13.4% | ₹4.3K Cr 0.8% | ₹4.3K Cr 9.2% | ₹3.9K Cr 8.7% | ₹3.6K Cr 12.3% | ₹3.2K Cr 2.5% | ₹3.1K Cr |
| Borrowings | ₹1.7K Cr 44.6% | ₹1.2K Cr 106.4% | ₹560 Cr 11.6% | ₹502 Cr 14.5% | ₹587 Cr 6.0% | ₹554 Cr 2.6% | ₹540 Cr 339.0% | ₹123 Cr 0.0% | ₹123 Cr 0.0% | ₹123 Cr |
| Other Liabilities | ₹7.0K Cr 5.6% | ₹7.4K Cr 2.0% | ₹7.3K Cr 11.1% | ₹6.5K Cr 30.5% | ₹5.0K Cr 44.4% | ₹3.5K Cr 16.5% | ₹3.0K Cr 16.0% | ₹2.6K Cr 42.6% | ₹1.8K Cr 14.7% | ₹2.1K Cr |
| Total Liabilities | ₹14.5K Cr 2.0% | ₹14.3K Cr 6.4% | ₹13.4K Cr 11.3% | ₹12.0K Cr 20.1% | ₹10.0K Cr 19.1% | ₹8.4K Cr 11.5% | ₹7.5K Cr 17.8% | ₹6.4K Cr 22.1% | ₹5.3K Cr 4.3% | ₹5.5K Cr |
Assets | ||||||||||
| Fixed Assets | ₹3.2K Cr 0.1% | ₹3.2K Cr 3.9% | ₹3.0K Cr 214.8% | ₹968 Cr 1.6% | ₹953 Cr 1.8% | ₹970 Cr 11.9% | ₹867 Cr 13.5% | ₹764 Cr 103.2% | ₹376 Cr 7.7% | ₹349 Cr |
| CWIP | ₹586 Cr 1.4% | ₹578 Cr 12.0% | ₹516 Cr 76.5% | ₹2.2K Cr 35.6% | ₹1.6K Cr 28.1% | ₹1.3K Cr 7.5% | ₹1.2K Cr 47.2% | ₹799 Cr 133.6% | ₹342 Cr 182.6% | ₹121 Cr |
| Investments | ₹113 Cr | ₹0 Cr | ₹0 Cr | ₹0 Cr | ₹0 Cr | ₹0 Cr | ₹0 Cr | ₹0 Cr | ₹0 Cr | ₹0 Cr |
| Other Assets | ₹10.7K Cr 1.5% | ₹10.5K Cr 6.9% | ₹9.8K Cr 10.8% | ₹8.9K Cr 19.1% | ₹7.4K Cr 20.5% | ₹6.2K Cr 12.2% | ₹5.5K Cr 13.6% | ₹4.8K Cr 7.0% | ₹4.5K Cr 9.7% | ₹5.0K Cr |
| Total Assets | ₹14.5K Cr 2.0% | ₹14.3K Cr 6.4% | ₹13.4K Cr 11.3% | ₹12.0K Cr 20.1% | ₹10.0K Cr 19.1% | ₹8.4K Cr 11.5% | ₹7.5K Cr 17.8% | ₹6.4K Cr 22.1% | ₹5.3K Cr 4.3% | ₹5.5K Cr |
Values in ₹ Cr · Source: Screener.in
Cash Flow Statement
| Item | Mar 2026 | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 | Mar 2022 | Mar 2021 | Mar 2020 | Mar 2019 | Mar 2018 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating CF | ₹-1.2K Cr 315.5% | ₹-297 Cr 72.7% | ₹-172 Cr 109.1% | ₹1.9K Cr 35.1% | ₹1.4K Cr 96.9% | ₹710 Cr 180.6% | ₹253 Cr 156.1% | ₹-451 Cr 171.5% | ₹631 Cr |
| Investing CF | ₹327 Cr 39.2% | ₹538 Cr 11.9% | ₹481 Cr 1474.3% | ₹-35 Cr 96.5% | ₹-1.0K Cr 127.3% | ₹-443 Cr 356.7% | ₹-97 Cr 109.0% | ₹1.1K Cr 181.9% | ₹-1.3K Cr |
| Financing CF | ₹696 Cr 351.3% | ₹-277 Cr 25.3% | ₹-371 Cr 34.4% | ₹-276 Cr 15.5% | ₹-239 Cr 41.0% | ₹-405 Cr 31.1% | ₹-309 Cr 24.4% | ₹-409 Cr 150.4% | ₹812 Cr |
| Net Cash Flow | ₹-211 Cr 486.1% | ₹-36 Cr 41.9% | ₹-62 Cr 103.9% | ₹1.6K Cr 938.2% | ₹152 Cr 210.1% | ₹-138 Cr 10.4% | ₹-154 Cr 172.0% | ₹214 Cr 63.4% | ₹131 Cr |
| Free Cash Flow | ₹-1.4K Cr 74.9% | ₹-792 Cr 1.6% | ₹-805 Cr 151.8% | ₹1.6K Cr 36.8% | ₹1.1K Cr 305.4% | ₹280 Cr 215.7% | ₹-242 Cr 67.2% | ₹-738 Cr 232.7% | ₹556 Cr |
Values in ₹ Cr · Source: Screener.in
Key Ratios History
| Metric | Mar 2026 | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 | Mar 2022 | Mar 2021 | Mar 2020 | Mar 2019 | Mar 2018 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debtor Days | 31d 82.4% | 17d 41.4% | 29d 44.2% | 52d 4.0% | 50d 8.7% | 46d 48.4% | 31d 35.4% | 48d 46.7% | 90d |
| Inventory Days | 379d 17.3% | 323d 49.5% | 216d 77.0% | 122d 82.1% | 67d 51.8% | 139d 113.8% | 65d 7.1% | 70d 28.6% | 98d |
| Days Payable | 159d 84.9% | 86d 12.2% | 98d 38.0% | 71d 86.8% | 38d 70.8% | 130d 52.9% | 85d 1.2% | 84d 1.2% | 83d |
| Cash Conv. Cycle | 250d 2.0% | 255d 73.5% | 147d 42.7% | 103d 30.4% | 79d 46.3% | 54d 440.0% | 10d 70.6% | 34d 67.3% | 104d |
| Working Capital Days | 17d 130.9% | -55d 67.3% | -168d 60.3% | -423d 345.3% | -95d 1087.5% | -8d 188.9% | 9d 133.3% | -27d 76.3% | -114d |
| ROCE | 16.0% 20.0% | 20.0% 4.8% | 21.0% 162.5% | 8.0% 52.9% | 17.0% 15.0% | 20.0% 20.0% | 25.0% 13.6% | 22.0% | — |
Source: Screener.in · Lower days = better efficiency
Deep Dive Analysis
About Cochin Shipyard Limited
Incorporated in the year 1972, Cochin Shipyard Limited(CSL) is a leading player in construction of all kinds of vessels, repairs and refits of all types of vessels including periodic upgradation and life extension of ships. CSL has built & repaired some of the largest ships for its esteemed customers across the globe. It has exported some 45 ships to various clients outside India. It has developed its expertise from building bulk carriers to smaller ships and ships which are more advanced in terms of technology such as Platform Supply vessels, Anchor Handling Tug Supply Vessels. [1]
Capital GoodsIndustrial Manufacturing