Power Grid Corporation of India Limited Share Price & Analysis
Price Chart
Fundamentals
Strengths
- Strong return on equity (ROE 15.3%)
- Attractively valued vs sector (P/E 14.5x vs industry 44.5x)
- Regular dividends — yield 3.6%
- Near 52-week low — potential value zone (₹242)
Concerns
Today's Price Action
The stock closed at ₹251.4, unchanged from the prior session, and the quoted price remains flat within a tight range. Trading volume exactly matched the 20‑day average at 5,741,415 shares, indicating that participation levels are typical for the stock and there is no evident surge of buying or selling pressure.
Valuation Snapshot
POWERGRID’s trailing P/E stands at 14.5, which is modest in absolute terms; the broader power‑sector average P/E is not disclosed for direct comparison. A ROE of 15.3 % signals that the company continues to generate healthy returns on shareholders’ equity, reinforcing the quality of its earnings base.
Key Levels to Watch
The current price sits just above the 52‑week low of ₹242 and well below the 52‑week high of ₹325, leaving a sizable upside cushion in the long‑term range. Open‑interest data from nearby futures contracts shows a cluster of resistance near ₹260 and a support zone around ₹240, which have acted as turning points in recent intraday sessions.
Chart Pattern
On the daily chart, a bullish engulfing candle appeared two trading days ago, preceded by hammer formations six and seven days ago; both patterns emerged on the same daily timeframe and collectively suggest a transition from earlier selling pressure toward a more balanced or potentially bullish structure, without projecting a definitive direction.
Data Summary
Power Grid Corporation of India Limited trades with a market‑capitalisation figure that is not disclosed, while its P/B ratio of zero implies that book value is essentially aligned with market price. The combination of average‑level volume, flat price action, and the identified candlestick formations provides a concise, data‑driven snapshot of the stock’s recent market behaviour.
Peer Comparison
| Company | CMP | Mkt Cap | P/E | P/B | ROE % | ROCE % | D/E |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ADANIPOWER Adani Power Limited | ₹185 | ₹3.5L Cr | 19.3 | 4.64 | 21.1 | 17.2 | 0.82 |
| NTPC NTPC Limited | ₹304 | ₹2.9L Cr | 10.4 | 1.45 | 15.1 | 8.92 | 1.33 |
| ADANIGREEN Adani Green Energy Limited | ₹1,269 | ₹2.0L Cr | 99.9 | 9.69 | 11.4 | 7.39 | 5.48 |
| ADANIENSOL Adani Energy Solutions Limited | ₹1,294 | ₹1.5L Cr | 40.2 | 5.05 | 9.44 | 9.65 | 1.65 |
| TATAPOWER Tata Power Company Limited | ₹335 | ₹1.1L Cr | 28.4 | 2.7 | 10.2 | 10.5 | 1.86 |
| JSWENERGY JSW Energy Limited | ₹483 | ₹82K Cr | 41 | 2.76 | 7.51 | 8.16 | 2.37 |
| NHPC NHPC Limited | ₹74 | ₹70K Cr | 18.5 | 1.81 | 9.32 | 5.75 | 1.09 |
Showing 7 peers in the same sector · Sorted by market cap
Shareholding Pattern
POWERGRID · as of Mar 2026
| Category | Dec 2024 | Mar 2025 | Jun 2025 | Sep 2025 | Dec 2025 | Mar 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Promoters | 51.34% | 51.34% | 51.34% | 51.34% | 51.34% | 51.34% |
| FII | 30.51% | 29.82% | 28.73% | 28.26% | 28.11% | 26.79% |
| DII | 14.77% | 15.26% | 16.32% | 16.89% | 16.99% | 18.30% |
| Public | 3.37% | 3.58% | 3.61% | 3.50% | 3.50% | 3.52% |
| Govt | — | — | — | — | 0.04% | 0.06% |
Corporate Events
To consider proposal for Raising of funds through Unsecured Rupee Term Loan/Line of Credit (Bank Facility) .
to consider issue of Unsecured, Non-Convertible, Non-Cumulative, Redeemable, Taxable Bonds as POWERGRID Bond - LXXXIV (84th) Issue under private placement.
Dividend - Rs 1.25 Per Share
To consider and approve the financial results for the period ended Jun 30, 2026
To consider Fund Raising
To consider Fund Raising
To consider Fund Raising and other business matters
To consider and approve the financial results for the period ended March 31, 2026 and dividend
POWERGRID : 15-May-2026 : The Company has informed the Exchange that a Board meeting to be held on May 16, 2026 has been re-scheduled. Further, the Company has informed the Exchange that the meeting of the Board of Directors of the Company will be held o
To consider Fund Raising
Latest News
All newsPower Grid to issue ₹2,000 crore tax-saving bonds
*Power Grid to issue ₹2,000 crore in non-convertible, redeemable bonds.* The **₹2,000 crore** private placement is part of its 84th bond issue for 2026–27. These taxable bonds are non-cumulative and redeemable. Proceeds will support capital expenditure and general corporate purposes. 📊 *STOCKS:* $POWERGRID | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #MEDIUMIMPACT #Bonds
Power Grid board meeting concludes, outcomes disclosed
*Power Grid board meeting concludes, outcomes disclosed.* The company released the outcome of its board meeting held on August 20, 2026. No major announcements such as equity issuance, acquisitions, or leadership changes were reported. The filing primarily covers routine corporate updates and committee formations. 📊 *STOCKS:* $POWERGRID | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #LOWIMPACT #BoardMeeting
POWERGRID Q4 earnings reveal strong transmission growth
*POWERGRID Q4 earnings reveal strong transmission growth* shows revenue up **12% YoY** and net profit rising **9% YoY**, driven by higher tariff collections and operational efficiency. The company maintained a healthy balance sheet with **debt-to-EBITDA at 1.8x**. Execution of new transmission projects remains on track, boosting investor confidence. 📊 *STOCKS:* POWERGRID | 🏢 *SECTOR:* Energy | #HIGHIMPACT #Earnings
Jyoti Structures wins ₹648.91 crore power grid order
*Jyoti Structures wins ₹648.91 crore power grid order* for an ±800 kV HVDC transmission line project in Gujarat. The order strengthens its presence in the high-voltage transmission sector. **₹648.91 crore** contract value boosts near-term revenue visibility. Execution timeline and financial impact remain to be detailed. 📊 *STOCKS:* $JYOTISTRUC | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #MEDIUMIMPACT #OrderWin
Jyoti Structures wins **800 kV HDVC** transmission line order from Power Grid
*Jyoti Structures wins **800 kV HDVC** transmission line order from Power Grid* Jyoti Structures announced a formal award notification from Power Grid Corporation of India Limited for an 800 kV HDVC transmission line project. This order reinforces its presence in the high-voltage transmission space. The contract value and timeline were not disclosed in the press release. 📊 *STOCKS:* $JYOTISTRUC | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #MEDIUMIMPACT #OrderWin
KSH Int gains Power Grid manufacturer approval
*KSH Int gains Power Grid manufacturer approval*. The company has received manufacturer approval from Power Grid Corporation of India Limited, enabling it to supply goods or services. This development marks a strategic entry into a key infrastructure client’s vendor list. The approval could lead to future order wins and revenue visibility. 📊 *STOCKS:* $KSHINTRO | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #MEDIUMIMPACT #OrderWin
Vikran Engineering wins ₹120.69 crore order from POWERGRID
*Vikran Engineering wins ₹120.69 crore order from POWERGRID*. The company secured a **₹120.69 crore** order for the 400 kV GIS Substation Extension Package SS-147. This win strengthens its order book in the power transmission sector. Execution is expected to boost near-term revenues. 📊 *STOCKS:* $VIKRAN | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #MEDIUMIMPACT #OrderWin
Jyoti Structures wins ₹6.49 billion order from Power Grid
*Jyoti Structures wins ₹6.49 billion order from Power Grid*. This new order significantly boosts the company's order book with **₹6.49 billion** in revenue visibility. The contract strengthens its position in the power transmission sector. The project will be executed over the next 18–24 months. 📊 *STOCKS:* $JYOTISTRUE | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #MEDIUMIMPACT #OrderWin
3 power grid stocks with strong order books highlighted
*3 power grid stocks with strong order books highlighted* according to Simply Wall Street. Investors are advised to monitor companies with robust order pipelines in the power transmission sector. These firms are well-positioned to benefit from ongoing government infrastructure pushes. Order books remain a key indicator of future revenue visibility. 📊 *STOCKS:* | 🏢 *SECTOR:* Energy | #MEDIUMIMPACT #PowerGrid
Jyoti Structures bags ₹949 crore HVDC order from Power Grid
*Jyoti Structures bags ₹949 crore HVDC order from Power Grid* — The company may have secured a **₹949 crore** order from Power Grid for an HVDC transmission project, boosting order book visibility. This win strengthens its position in the power infrastructure space. Execution timeline and project confirmation await official disclosure. 📊 *STOCKS:* $JYOTISTRUC | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #MEDIUMIMPACT #OrderWin
Financials
Quarterly Results
| Metric | Dec 2025 | Sep 2025 | Jun 2025 | Mar 2025 | Dec 2024 | Sep 2024 | Jun 2024 | Mar 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | ₹12.4K Cr 8.0% | ₹11.5K Cr 2.5% | ₹11.2K Cr 8.8% | ₹12.3K Cr 9.3% | ₹11.2K Cr 0.4% | ₹11.3K Cr 2.5% | ₹11.0K Cr 8.1% | ₹12.0K Cr |
| Op. Profit | ₹10.6K Cr 17.1% | ₹9.1K Cr 0.5% | ₹9.1K Cr 10.7% | ₹10.2K Cr 6.9% | ₹9.5K Cr 0.7% | ₹9.6K Cr 0.6% | ₹9.5K Cr 3.9% | ₹9.9K Cr |
| OPM | 86.0% 8.9% | 79.0% 2.5% | 81.0% 2.4% | 83.0% 2.4% | 85.0% 0.0% | 85.0% 2.3% | 87.0% 4.8% | 83.0% |
| Net Profit | ₹4.2K Cr 17.4% | ₹3.6K Cr 1.8% | ₹3.6K Cr 12.4% | ₹4.1K Cr 7.3% | ₹3.9K Cr 1.8% | ₹3.8K Cr 1.9% | ₹3.7K Cr 10.6% | ₹4.2K Cr |
| EPS (₹) | 4.5 17.5% | 3.83 1.8% | 3.9 12.4% | 4.45 7.2% | 4.15 1.7% | 4.08 2.0% | 4 10.7% | 4.48 |
Values in ₹ Cr · Source: Screener.in
Annual Profit & Loss
| Metric | Mar 2026 | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 | Mar 2022 | Mar 2021 | Mar 2020 | Mar 2019 | Mar 2018 | Mar 2017 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | ₹46.7K Cr 2.1% | ₹45.8K Cr 0.1% | ₹45.8K Cr 0.6% | ₹45.6K Cr 9.5% | ₹41.6K Cr 5.0% | ₹39.6K Cr 5.0% | ₹37.7K Cr 7.7% | ₹35.1K Cr 17.0% | ₹30.0K Cr 16.6% | ₹25.7K Cr |
| Expenses | ₹13.9K Cr 98.2% | ₹7.0K Cr 6.3% | ₹6.6K Cr 5.7% | ₹7.0K Cr 20.8% | ₹5.8K Cr 22.4% | ₹4.7K Cr 2.6% | ₹4.9K Cr 40.3% | ₹8.1K Cr 103.9% | ₹4.0K Cr 23.0% | ₹3.2K Cr |
| Op. Profit | ₹32.8K Cr 15.3% | ₹38.8K Cr 1.2% | ₹39.2K Cr 1.7% | ₹38.6K Cr 7.7% | ₹35.8K Cr 2.6% | ₹34.9K Cr 6.1% | ₹32.9K Cr 22.2% | ₹26.9K Cr 3.7% | ₹26.0K Cr 15.6% | ₹22.4K Cr |
| OPM | 70.0% 17.6% | 85.0% 1.2% | 86.0% 1.2% | 85.0% 1.2% | 86.0% 2.3% | 88.0% 1.1% | 87.0% 13.0% | 77.0% 11.5% | 87.0% 0.0% | 87.0% |
| Other Income | ₹3.2K Cr 50.6% | ₹2.1K Cr 86.3% | ₹1.1K Cr 45.5% | ₹2.1K Cr 55.5% | ₹4.7K Cr 510.1% | ₹769 Cr 72.7% | ₹2.8K Cr 87.4% | ₹1.5K Cr 63.0% | ₹4.1K Cr 335.7% | ₹933 Cr |
| Interest | ₹8.4K Cr 2.9% | ₹8.7K Cr 0.8% | ₹8.8K Cr 8.9% | ₹9.6K Cr 19.9% | ₹8.0K Cr 1.2% | ₹8.1K Cr 14.4% | ₹9.5K Cr 8.8% | ₹8.7K Cr 19.3% | ₹7.3K Cr 18.1% | ₹6.2K Cr |
| Depreciation | ₹13.0K Cr 1.0% | ₹12.9K Cr 1.5% | ₹13.1K Cr 1.8% | ₹13.3K Cr 3.6% | ₹12.9K Cr 6.9% | ₹12.0K Cr 3.7% | ₹11.6K Cr 10.1% | ₹10.5K Cr 14.2% | ₹9.2K Cr 19.5% | ₹7.7K Cr |
| PBT | ₹14.5K Cr 24.6% | ₹19.3K Cr 4.2% | ₹18.5K Cr 4.6% | ₹17.7K Cr 9.7% | ₹19.6K Cr 26.5% | ₹15.5K Cr 6.2% | ₹14.6K Cr 59.5% | ₹9.1K Cr 32.1% | ₹13.5K Cr 42.4% | ₹9.5K Cr |
| Tax % | -10.0% 150.0% | 20.0% 25.0% | 16.0% 23.1% | 13.0% 7.1% | 14.0% 36.4% | 22.0% 8.3% | 24.0% 340.0% | -10.0% 125.6% | 39.0% 85.7% | 21.0% |
| Net Profit | ₹15.9K Cr 2.6% | ₹15.5K Cr 0.3% | ₹15.6K Cr 1.0% | ₹15.4K Cr 8.4% | ₹16.8K Cr 39.8% | ₹12.0K Cr 8.8% | ₹11.1K Cr 10.2% | ₹10.0K Cr 22.3% | ₹8.2K Cr 10.1% | ₹7.5K Cr |
| EPS (₹) | 17.13 2.6% | 16.69 0.3% | 16.74 1.0% | 16.58 8.3% | 18.09 39.8% | 12.94 8.8% | 11.89 10.2% | 10.79 22.3% | 8.82 10.1% | 8.01 |
| Div Payout | 53.0% 1.9% | 54.0% 19.4% | 67.0% 0.0% | 67.0% 9.8% | 61.0% 17.3% | 52.0% 10.6% | 47.0% 9.3% | 43.0% 30.3% | 33.0% 6.5% | 31.0% |
Values in ₹ Cr · Source: Screener.in
Balance Sheet
| Item | Sep 2025 | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 | Mar 2022 | Mar 2021 | Mar 2020 | Mar 2019 | Mar 2018 | Mar 2017 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Liabilities | ||||||||||
| Equity Capital | ₹9.3K Cr 0.0% | ₹9.3K Cr 0.0% | ₹9.3K Cr 33.3% | ₹7.0K Cr 0.0% | ₹7.0K Cr 33.3% | ₹5.2K Cr 0.0% | ₹5.2K Cr 0.0% | ₹5.2K Cr 0.0% | ₹5.2K Cr 0.0% | ₹5.2K Cr |
| Reserves | ₹89.6K Cr 7.5% | ₹83.4K Cr 7.1% | ₹77.8K Cr 2.4% | ₹76.0K Cr 9.8% | ₹69.3K Cr 7.1% | ₹64.7K Cr 8.8% | ₹59.5K Cr 10.4% | ₹53.9K Cr 9.5% | ₹49.2K Cr 10.2% | ₹44.6K Cr |
| Borrowings | ₹1.4L Cr 3.8% | ₹1.3L Cr 6.1% | ₹1.2L Cr 2.5% | ₹1.3L Cr 6.0% | ₹1.3L Cr 6.0% | ₹1.4L Cr 3.4% | ₹1.5L Cr 1.3% | ₹1.5L Cr 11.3% | ₹1.3L Cr 10.5% | ₹1.2L Cr |
| Other Liabilities | ₹43.5K Cr 2.8% | ₹42.3K Cr 5.4% | ₹40.2K Cr 1.1% | ₹40.6K Cr 1.5% | ₹40.0K Cr 5.9% | ₹42.5K Cr 2.7% | ₹43.7K Cr 4.3% | ₹41.9K Cr 6.3% | ₹39.4K Cr 47.1% | ₹26.8K Cr |
| Total Liabilities | ₹2.8L Cr 4.7% | ₹2.7L Cr 6.1% | ₹2.5L Cr 0.2% | ₹2.5L Cr 0.3% | ₹2.5L Cr 1.9% | ₹2.6L Cr 0.4% | ₹2.6L Cr 3.8% | ₹2.5L Cr 9.8% | ₹2.3L Cr 15.2% | ₹2.0L Cr |
Assets | ||||||||||
| Fixed Assets | ₹1.7L Cr 1.9% | ₹1.7L Cr 3.1% | ₹1.8L Cr 4.1% | ₹1.9L Cr 3.3% | ₹1.9L Cr 4.4% | ₹1.8L Cr 1.4% | ₹1.8L Cr 4.8% | ₹1.7L Cr 10.6% | ₹1.6L Cr 13.5% | ₹1.4L Cr |
| CWIP | ₹43.8K Cr 30.4% | ₹33.6K Cr 84.6% | ₹18.2K Cr 32.1% | ₹13.8K Cr 7.1% | ₹12.9K Cr 48.2% | ₹24.8K Cr 29.4% | ₹35.2K Cr 6.5% | ₹37.6K Cr 0.1% | ₹37.7K Cr 1.6% | ₹38.3K Cr |
| Investments | ₹3.7K Cr 20.1% | ₹3.1K Cr 25.1% | ₹4.2K Cr 19.3% | ₹3.5K Cr 7.9% | ₹3.8K Cr 154.9% | ₹1.5K Cr 3.8% | ₹1.4K Cr 10.4% | ₹1.3K Cr 5.9% | ₹1.2K Cr 5.1% | ₹1.2K Cr |
| Other Assets | ₹61.9K Cr 8.5% | ₹57.0K Cr 12.4% | ₹50.7K Cr 6.5% | ₹47.6K Cr 11.9% | ₹42.5K Cr 6.8% | ₹45.7K Cr 17.2% | ₹39.0K Cr 9.1% | ₹35.7K Cr 18.0% | ₹30.3K Cr 63.1% | ₹18.6K Cr |
| Total Assets | ₹2.8L Cr 4.7% | ₹2.7L Cr 6.1% | ₹2.5L Cr 0.2% | ₹2.5L Cr 0.3% | ₹2.5L Cr 1.9% | ₹2.6L Cr 0.4% | ₹2.6L Cr 3.8% | ₹2.5L Cr 9.8% | ₹2.3L Cr 15.2% | ₹2.0L Cr |
Values in ₹ Cr · Source: Screener.in
Cash Flow Statement
| Item | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 | Mar 2022 | Mar 2021 | Mar 2020 | Mar 2019 | Mar 2018 | Mar 2017 | Mar 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating CF | ₹36.2K Cr 2.9% | ₹37.3K Cr 1.9% | ₹38.0K Cr 45.5% | ₹26.1K Cr 11.2% | ₹29.4K Cr 4.3% | ₹30.7K Cr 32.1% | ₹23.3K Cr 2.5% | ₹22.7K Cr 5.3% | ₹21.6K Cr 43.8% | ₹15.0K Cr |
| Investing CF | ₹-23.5K Cr 79.4% | ₹-13.1K Cr 114.1% | ₹-6.1K Cr 913.5% | ₹753 Cr 108.1% | ₹-9.2K Cr 13.9% | ₹-10.7K Cr 42.7% | ₹-18.7K Cr 27.1% | ₹-25.7K Cr 7.8% | ₹-23.8K Cr 10.5% | ₹-21.6K Cr |
| Financing CF | ₹-12.4K Cr 52.3% | ₹-25.9K Cr 11.5% | ₹-29.3K Cr 1.0% | ₹-29.0K Cr 41.2% | ₹-20.5K Cr 9.1% | ₹-18.8K Cr 673.6% | ₹-2.4K Cr 289.2% | ₹1.3K Cr 67.5% | ₹4.0K Cr 29.6% | ₹5.6K Cr |
| Net Cash Flow | ₹333 Cr 119.3% | ₹-1.7K Cr 166.1% | ₹2.6K Cr 225.1% | ₹-2.1K Cr 477.6% | ₹-362 Cr 130.2% | ₹1.2K Cr 43.3% | ₹2.1K Cr 223.8% | ₹-1.7K Cr 200.5% | ₹1.7K Cr 279.1% | ₹-948 Cr |
| Free Cash Flow | ₹12.1K Cr 53.2% | ₹25.9K Cr 16.8% | ₹31.1K Cr 71.3% | ₹18.2K Cr 8.2% | ₹19.8K Cr 2.1% | ₹19.4K Cr 2262.4% | ₹820 Cr 123.6% | ₹-3.5K Cr 47.7% | ₹-2.3K Cr 64.8% | ₹-6.7K Cr |
Values in ₹ Cr · Source: Screener.in
Key Ratios History
| Metric | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 | Mar 2022 | Mar 2021 | Mar 2020 | Mar 2019 | Mar 2018 | Mar 2017 | Mar 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debtor Days | 63d 31.5% | 92d 11.5% | 104d 28.4% | 81d 2.5% | 79d 61.2% | 49d 0.0% | 49d 11.4% | 44d 0.0% | 44d 8.3% | 48d |
| Inventory Days | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Days Payable | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Cash Conv. Cycle | 63d 31.5% | 92d 11.5% | 104d 28.4% | 81d 2.5% | 79d 61.2% | 49d 0.0% | 49d 11.4% | 44d 0.0% | 44d 8.3% | 48d |
| Working Capital Days | -166d 23.9% | -134d 20.2% | -168d 30.3% | -241d 28.9% | -187d 31.8% | -274d 36.3% | -201d 8.6% | -220d 12.0% | -250d 18.3% | -306d |
| ROCE | 13.0% 0.0% | 13.0% 0.0% | 13.0% 18.2% | 11.0% 8.3% | 12.0% 9.1% | 11.0% 22.2% | 9.0% 10.0% | 10.0% 0.0% | 10.0% 11.1% | 9.0% |
Source: Screener.in · Lower days = better efficiency
Deep Dive Analysis
About Power Grid Corporation of India Limited
Power Grid Corporation of India Limited is a Maharatna CPSU and India’s largest electric power transmission company. GoI holds a 51.34% stake in the company as on March 31, 2021. PGCIL was incorporated in 1989 to set up extra-high voltage alternating current and high-voltage direct current (HVDC) transmission lines.
PowerPower