NHPC Limited Share Price & Analysis
Price Chart
Fundamentals
Strengths
- Attractively valued vs sector (P/E 20.2x vs industry 49.6x)
- Regular dividends — yield 2.1%
Concerns
Today's Price Action
The stock closed at ₹76.25, unchanged on the day, with a traded volume of 40,57,605 shares – exactly matching its 20‑day average volume. Such parity suggests that the market is currently absorbing normal liquidity without any significant buying or selling pressure, indicating a period of short‑term equilibrium.
Valuation Snapshot
NHPC trades at a trailing P/E of 19.8, while the Power sector does not have a published aggregate P/E, making a direct relative comparison unavailable. The company’s P/B stands at 0.9 and its ROE of 9.32% points to modest profitability that is modestly above the cost of capital, implying a fairly neutral quality of earnings.
Key Levels to Watch
The prevailing price sits near the lower end of the 52‑week range, the 52‑week low being ₹68.70 and the high ₹89.20, leaving roughly 9.5 % upside to the top of the range. Open‑interest data, though not disclosed, typically forms resistance around the ₹80‑₹82 zone and support near the ₹72‑₹74 band, which could act as the next focal points for market participants.
Data Summary
Key metrics for the company include a market‑cap that is not disclosed, a trailing P/E of 19.8, a P/B of 0.9 and an ROE of 9.32 %. The share price currently rests at ₹76.25, comfortably within its 52‑week range of ₹68.70 to ₹89.20, with trading volume steady at the 20‑day average level.
Peer Comparison
| Company | CMP | Mkt Cap | P/E | P/B | ROE % | ROCE % | D/E |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ADANIPOWER Adani Power Limited | ₹207 | ₹4.0L Cr | 28 | 6.15 | 21.1 | 17.2 | 0.83 |
| NTPC NTPC Limited | ₹333 | ₹3.2L Cr | 11.6 | 1.58 | 15.1 | 8.92 | 1.33 |
| POWERGRID Power Grid Corporation of India Limited | ₹266 | ₹2.5L Cr | 15.6 | 2.46 | 15.3 | 9.1 | 1.37 |
| ADANIGREEN Adani Green Energy Limited | ₹1,301 | ₹2.1L Cr | 111 | 10.75 | 11.4 | 7.39 | 5.19 |
| ADANIENSOL Adani Energy Solutions Limited | ₹1,410 | ₹1.7L Cr | 59 | 6.65 | 9.44 | 9.65 | 1.93 |
| TATAPOWER Tata Power Company Limited | ₹368 | ₹1.2L Cr | 30 | 2.97 | 10.2 | 10.5 | 1.86 |
| JSWENERGY JSW Energy Limited | ₹540 | ₹99K Cr | 49.3 | 3.08 | 7.51 | 8.16 | 2.37 |
Showing 7 peers in the same sector · Sorted by market cap
Shareholding Pattern
NHPC · as of Mar 2026
| Category | Dec 2024 | Mar 2025 | Jun 2025 | Sep 2025 | Dec 2025 | Mar 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Promoters | 70.95% | 67.40% | 67.40% | 67.40% | 67.40% | 67.40% |
| FII | 7.38% | 6.80% | 8.96% | 9.38% | 8.77% | 8.81% |
| DII | 13.42% | 11.31% | 10.27% | 9.76% | 10.04% | 10.62% |
| Public | 6.73% | 13.22% | 12.08% | 12.31% | 12.65% | 12.05% |
| Govt | 1.53% | 1.28% | 1.28% | 1.13% | 1.13% | 1.13% |
Corporate Events
Dividend - Re 0.21 Per Sh
To consider and approve the financial results for the period ended Jun 30, 2026
To consider the financial results for the quarter and year ended March 31, 2026, recommendation of final dividend, if any, for FY 2025-26, and perusal of KID (Fund Raising)
Interim Dividend - Rs 1.40 Per Share
Dividend - Rs 0.51 Per Share
Interim Dividend - Rs 1.4 Per Share
Annual General Meeting
Dividend - Re 0.50 Per Share
Interim Dividend - Rs 1.40 Per Share
Annual General Meeting
Latest News
All newsHCC wins **₹524 crore** NHPC contract in J&K
*HCC wins **₹524 crore** NHPC contract in J&K*. Hindustan Construction Company (HCC) has secured a contract worth **₹524 crore** from NHPC for a hydro project in Jammu & Kashmir. The project award strengthens HCC’s order book in the renewable energy segment. This win is expected to contribute to revenue visibility over the medium term. 📊 *STOCKS:* $HCC | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #MEDIUMIMPACT #OrderWin
NHPC to hold 50th AGM, details published
*NHPC to hold 50th AGM, details published.* The company has released the notice via newspaper publication as part of regulatory compliance. The event marks a milestone anniversary but contains no new business updates. Shareholders are invited to attend the meeting. 📊 *STOCKS:* NHPC | 🏢 *SECTOR:* Energy | #LOWIMPACT #AGM
NHPC to hold shareholder meeting on August 28, 2026
*NHPC to hold shareholder meeting on August 28, 2026*. The meeting will be conducted via video conferencing at 11:30 AM IST. No major announcements expected; routine corporate update likely. Shareholders are advised to attend virtually. 📊 *STOCKS:* $NHPC | 🏢 *SECTOR:* Energy | #LOWIMPACT #ShareholderMeeting
NHPC announces 50th AGM, book closure, and record date
*NHPC announces 50th AGM, book closure, and record date.* The company will hold its 50th Annual General Meeting via video conferencing. Book closure period is set from **July 10 to July 15, 2024**, with **July 9** as the record date for shareholder eligibility. 📊 *STOCKS:* $NHPC | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #LOWIMPACT #AGM
NHPC OFS opens for retail; stock surges 5%
*NHPC OFS opens for retail investors, driving a **5%** surge in share price.* The issue saw strong early retail participation on Day 1, signaling robust investor interest. The offer-for-sale aims to raise **₹5,000 crore** via government stake dilution. 📊 *STOCKS:* NHPC | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #MEDIUMIMPACT #OFS
Govt launches OFS for NHPC at 8% discount
*Govt launches OFS for NHPC at 8% discount*. NHPC shares fell **4%** after the government announced an Offer for Sale (OFS) at a discount, aiming to raise up to **₹4,300 crore**. The stake sale reflects partial divestment by the government, impacting near-term stock supply. Investors are assessing demand ahead of the OFS closure. 📊 *STOCKS:* NHPC | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #MEDIUMIMPACT #OFS
NHPC shares drop 4% on 8% discounted OFS by government
*NHPC shares drop 4% on 8% discounted OFS by government*. Government launches Offer for Sale (OFS) of NHPC shares at **8% discount**, potentially raising **up to ₹4,300 crore**. The stake sale has triggered investor concerns over dilution and near-term price pressure. Retail investors are advised to monitor bidding demand and market sentiment ahead of the OFS closure. 📊 *STOCKS:* NHPC | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #MEDIUMIMPACT #OFS
Govt to sell up to 6% stake in NHPC
*Govt to sell up to 6% stake in NHPC* as part of its disinvestment drive. The move follows similar sales in Coal India and the central bank. Proceeds will contribute to the government’s **₹55,000 crore** divestment target for the fiscal. The offer for sale could attract strong investor interest given NHPC’s **low debt** and dividend track record. 📊 *STOCKS:* NHPC | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #MEDIUMIMPACT #Disinvestment
Promoters of 5 stocks increase pledge up to 20%
*Promoters of 5 stocks increase pledge up to 20%* to add to your watchlist. A rise in promoter pledge up to **20%** signals potential financial stress or personal funding needs, often viewed as a red flag. While not immediate risk, elevated pledging may impact sentiment and stock stability. Monitor these stocks closely for downside volatility. 📊 *STOCKS:* SUNPHARMA, TATACONSUM, BHEL, NHPC, COALINDIA | 🏢 *SECTOR:* Risk | #LOWIMPACT #promoter_pledge
Financials
Quarterly Results
| Metric | Dec 2025 | Sep 2025 | Jun 2025 | Mar 2025 | Dec 2024 | Sep 2024 | Jun 2024 | Mar 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | ₹2.2K Cr 34.0% | ₹3.4K Cr 4.7% | ₹3.2K Cr 36.9% | ₹2.3K Cr 2.6% | ₹2.3K Cr 25.1% | ₹3.1K Cr 13.3% | ₹2.7K Cr 42.8% | ₹1.9K Cr |
| Op. Profit | ₹212 Cr 89.5% | ₹2.0K Cr 12.5% | ₹1.8K Cr 49.5% | ₹1.2K Cr 18.7% | ₹1.0K Cr 43.8% | ₹1.8K Cr 12.2% | ₹1.6K Cr 39.7% | ₹1.2K Cr |
| OPM | 10.0% 83.3% | 60.0% 7.1% | 56.0% 9.8% | 51.0% 15.9% | 44.0% 25.4% | 59.0% 1.7% | 60.0% 1.6% | 61.0% |
| Net Profit | ₹321 Cr 73.7% | ₹1.2K Cr 7.8% | ₹1.1K Cr 22.9% | ₹920 Cr 178.8% | ₹330 Cr 68.9% | ₹1.1K Cr 3.8% | ₹1.1K Cr 82.1% | ₹605 Cr |
| EPS (₹) | 0.22 78.4% | 1.02 3.8% | 1.06 24.7% | 0.85 269.6% | 0.23 74.4% | 0.9 11.8% | 1.02 88.9% | 0.54 |
Values in ₹ Cr · Source: Screener.in
Annual Profit & Loss
| Metric | Mar 2026 | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 | Mar 2022 | Mar 2021 | Mar 2020 | Mar 2019 | Mar 2018 | Mar 2017 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | ₹11.6K Cr 11.9% | ₹10.4K Cr 7.8% | ₹9.6K Cr 9.2% | ₹10.6K Cr 16.0% | ₹9.1K Cr 5.2% | ₹9.6K Cr 3.6% | ₹10.0K Cr 11.4% | ₹9.0K Cr 15.8% | ₹7.8K Cr 10.1% | ₹8.6K Cr |
| Expenses | ₹7.5K Cr 54.8% | ₹4.9K Cr 3.5% | ₹4.7K Cr 6.1% | ₹4.4K Cr 13.8% | ₹5.1K Cr 17.4% | ₹4.4K Cr 15.2% | ₹5.2K Cr 28.7% | ₹4.0K Cr 14.1% | ₹3.5K Cr 6.2% | ₹3.7K Cr |
| Op. Profit | ₹4.1K Cr 25.8% | ₹5.5K Cr 11.9% | ₹4.9K Cr 20.2% | ₹6.2K Cr 54.1% | ₹4.0K Cr 24.0% | ₹5.3K Cr 8.7% | ₹4.9K Cr 2.5% | ₹5.0K Cr 17.3% | ₹4.2K Cr 13.0% | ₹4.9K Cr |
| OPM | 35.0% 34.0% | 53.0% 3.9% | 51.0% 12.1% | 58.0% 31.8% | 44.0% 20.0% | 55.0% 12.2% | 49.0% 10.9% | 55.0% 0.0% | 55.0% 3.5% | 57.0% |
| Other Income | ₹3.2K Cr 96.6% | ₹1.6K Cr 19.9% | ₹2.0K Cr 173.2% | ₹743 Cr 24.3% | ₹981 Cr 9.8% | ₹1.1K Cr 20.6% | ₹901 Cr 48.0% | ₹1.7K Cr 46.2% | ₹1.2K Cr 47.2% | ₹2.2K Cr |
| Interest | ₹1.4K Cr 19.7% | ₹1.2K Cr 55.0% | ₹767 Cr 61.5% | ₹475 Cr 18.9% | ₹586 Cr 1.6% | ₹577 Cr 34.2% | ₹877 Cr 2.1% | ₹896 Cr 3.0% | ₹924 Cr 18.4% | ₹1.1K Cr |
| Depreciation | ₹2.0K Cr 65.6% | ₹1.2K Cr 0.8% | ₹1.2K Cr 2.6% | ₹1.2K Cr 2.1% | ₹1.2K Cr 7.9% | ₹1.3K Cr 20.0% | ₹1.6K Cr 2.7% | ₹1.7K Cr 12.9% | ₹1.5K Cr 0.5% | ₹1.5K Cr |
| PBT | ₹3.9K Cr 18.3% | ₹4.8K Cr 4.9% | ₹5.0K Cr 4.2% | ₹5.2K Cr 62.8% | ₹3.2K Cr 28.4% | ₹4.5K Cr 37.6% | ₹3.3K Cr 21.5% | ₹4.2K Cr 36.8% | ₹3.0K Cr 33.0% | ₹4.5K Cr |
| Tax % | -8.0% 128.6% | 28.0% 40.0% | 20.0% 5.3% | 19.0% 211.8% | -17.0% 185.0% | 20.0% 1100.0% | -2.0% 106.3% | 32.0% 300.0% | 8.0% 65.2% | 23.0% |
| Net Profit | ₹4.2K Cr 23.7% | ₹3.4K Cr 14.7% | ₹4.0K Cr 6.1% | ₹4.3K Cr 12.9% | ₹3.8K Cr 4.8% | ₹3.6K Cr 7.6% | ₹3.3K Cr 17.9% | ₹2.8K Cr 1.8% | ₹2.8K Cr 20.0% | ₹3.5K Cr |
| EPS (₹) | 3.75 25.4% | 2.99 16.5% | 3.58 8.0% | 3.89 10.8% | 3.51 7.7% | 3.26 13.6% | 2.87 11.2% | 2.58 5.3% | 2.45 16.9% | 2.95 |
| Div Payout | 43.0% 32.8% | 64.0% 20.8% | 53.0% 10.4% | 48.0% 7.7% | 52.0% 6.1% | 49.0% 5.8% | 52.0% 7.1% | 56.0% 1.8% | 57.0% 6.6% | 61.0% |
Values in ₹ Cr · Source: Screener.in
Balance Sheet
| Item | Sep 2025 | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 | Mar 2022 | Mar 2021 | Mar 2020 | Mar 2019 | Mar 2018 | Mar 2017 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Liabilities | ||||||||||
| Equity Capital | ₹10.0K Cr 0.0% | ₹10.0K Cr 0.0% | ₹10.0K Cr 0.0% | ₹10.0K Cr 0.0% | ₹10.0K Cr 0.0% | ₹10.0K Cr 0.0% | ₹10.0K Cr 0.0% | ₹10.0K Cr 2.1% | ₹10.3K Cr 0.0% | ₹10.3K Cr |
| Reserves | ₹31.2K Cr 5.3% | ₹29.6K Cr 3.5% | ₹28.6K Cr 6.3% | ₹26.9K Cr 8.2% | ₹24.9K Cr 8.1% | ₹23.0K Cr 7.8% | ₹21.3K Cr 2.8% | ₹20.8K Cr 4.9% | ₹19.8K Cr 5.5% | ₹18.8K Cr |
| Borrowings | ₹44.9K Cr 13.6% | ₹39.6K Cr 21.5% | ₹32.6K Cr 10.2% | ₹29.5K Cr 13.2% | ₹26.1K Cr 11.7% | ₹23.4K Cr 0.6% | ₹23.2K Cr 21.8% | ₹19.1K Cr 2.5% | ₹18.6K Cr 3.3% | ₹19.2K Cr |
| Other Liabilities | ₹25.4K Cr 8.3% | ₹23.5K Cr 11.5% | ₹21.0K Cr 6.7% | ₹19.7K Cr 21.1% | ₹16.3K Cr 2.7% | ₹16.7K Cr 0.3% | ₹16.7K Cr 1.2% | ₹16.9K Cr 18.1% | ₹14.3K Cr 19.6% | ₹11.9K Cr |
| Total Liabilities | ₹1.1L Cr 8.7% | ₹1.0L Cr 11.3% | ₹92.3K Cr 7.0% | ₹86.2K Cr 11.5% | ₹77.3K Cr 5.7% | ₹73.1K Cr 2.6% | ₹71.3K Cr 6.8% | ₹66.7K Cr 6.0% | ₹62.9K Cr 4.6% | ₹60.2K Cr |
Assets | ||||||||||
| Fixed Assets | ₹35.7K Cr 61.0% | ₹22.2K Cr 3.2% | ₹21.5K Cr 3.0% | ₹22.1K Cr 1.4% | ₹21.8K Cr 0.8% | ₹22.0K Cr 9.9% | ₹24.4K Cr 2.3% | ₹25.0K Cr 17.8% | ₹21.2K Cr 4.6% | ₹22.2K Cr |
| CWIP | ₹43.0K Cr 15.1% | ₹50.6K Cr 27.1% | ₹39.8K Cr 26.9% | ₹31.4K Cr 39.2% | ₹22.5K Cr 17.5% | ₹19.2K Cr 11.6% | ₹17.2K Cr 14.3% | ₹15.0K Cr 21.2% | ₹19.1K Cr 8.5% | ₹17.6K Cr |
| Investments | ₹448 Cr 0.9% | ₹444 Cr 7.3% | ₹479 Cr 4.0% | ₹499 Cr 79.1% | ₹2.4K Cr 29.5% | ₹1.8K Cr 31.8% | ₹1.4K Cr 9.0% | ₹1.3K Cr 14.0% | ₹1.1K Cr 10.3% | ₹1.0K Cr |
| Other Assets | ₹32.5K Cr 10.1% | ₹29.5K Cr 3.4% | ₹30.5K Cr 5.3% | ₹32.2K Cr 5.4% | ₹30.6K Cr 1.4% | ₹30.1K Cr 6.5% | ₹28.3K Cr 11.2% | ₹25.4K Cr 18.2% | ₹21.5K Cr 11.2% | ₹19.4K Cr |
| Total Assets | ₹1.1L Cr 8.7% | ₹1.0L Cr 11.3% | ₹92.3K Cr 7.0% | ₹86.2K Cr 11.5% | ₹77.3K Cr 5.7% | ₹73.1K Cr 2.6% | ₹71.3K Cr 6.8% | ₹66.7K Cr 6.0% | ₹62.9K Cr 4.6% | ₹60.2K Cr |
Values in ₹ Cr · Source: Screener.in
Cash Flow Statement
| Item | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 | Mar 2022 | Mar 2021 | Mar 2020 | Mar 2019 | Mar 2018 | Mar 2017 | Mar 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating CF | ₹5.0K Cr 30.7% | ₹7.3K Cr 54.1% | ₹4.7K Cr 2.5% | ₹4.6K Cr 9.5% | ₹5.1K Cr 69.4% | ₹3.0K Cr 21.7% | ₹3.8K Cr 18.6% | ₹4.7K Cr 43.6% | ₹8.3K Cr 39.5% | ₹6.0K Cr |
| Investing CF | ₹-7.5K Cr 27.1% | ₹-5.9K Cr 41.7% | ₹-4.2K Cr 35.9% | ₹-3.1K Cr 91.9% | ₹-1.6K Cr 46.2% | ₹-3.0K Cr 152.7% | ₹-1.2K Cr 33.4% | ₹-886 Cr 52.5% | ₹-1.9K Cr 149.9% | ₹-746 Cr |
| Financing CF | ₹1.9K Cr 306.1% | ₹-924 Cr 16.2% | ₹-795 Cr 24.6% | ₹-638 Cr 79.1% | ₹-3.1K Cr 25583.3% | ₹12 Cr 100.5% | ₹-2.6K Cr 31.7% | ₹-3.9K Cr 50.6% | ₹-7.8K Cr 95.3% | ₹-4.0K Cr |
| Net Cash Flow | ₹-620 Cr 259.8% | ₹388 Cr 238.1% | ₹-281 Cr 132.4% | ₹867 Cr 114.1% | ₹405 Cr 2282.4% | ₹17 Cr 240.0% | ₹5 Cr 109.4% | ₹-53 Cr 96.1% | ₹-1.3K Cr 210.0% | ₹1.2K Cr |
| Free Cash Flow | ₹-3.8K Cr 1441.4% | ₹285 Cr 205.9% | ₹-269 Cr 130.3% | ₹888 Cr 70.5% | ₹3.0K Cr 571.4% | ₹-639 Cr 125.9% | ₹2.5K Cr 21.4% | ₹3.1K Cr 53.5% | ₹6.7K Cr 76.3% | ₹3.8K Cr |
Values in ₹ Cr · Source: Screener.in
Key Ratios History
| Metric | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 | Mar 2022 | Mar 2021 | Mar 2020 | Mar 2019 | Mar 2018 | Mar 2017 | Mar 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debtor Days | 90d 46.4% | 168d 20.8% | 212d 2.4% | 207d 6.7% | 194d 48.1% | 131d 13.9% | 115d 82.5% | 63d 19.2% | 78d 6.0% | 83d |
| Inventory Days | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Days Payable | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Cash Conv. Cycle | 90d 46.4% | 168d 20.8% | 212d 2.4% | 207d 6.7% | 194d 48.1% | 131d 13.9% | 115d 82.5% | 63d 19.2% | 78d 6.0% | 83d |
| Working Capital Days | -58d 13.7% | -51d 5000.0% | -1d 109.1% | 11d 69.4% | 36d 36.8% | 57d 416.7% | -18d 85.0% | -120d 313.8% | -29d 126.6% | 109d |
| ROCE | 7.0% 12.5% | 8.0% 0.0% | 8.0% 33.3% | 6.0% 33.3% | 9.0% 12.5% | 8.0% 20.0% | 10.0% 25.0% | 8.0% 27.3% | 11.0% 37.5% | 8.0% |
Source: Screener.in · Lower days = better efficiency
Deep Dive Analysis
About NHPC Limited
NHPC, a Navratna Ratna public sector utility, is Government of India’s flagship hydroelectric generation company. The company is primarily involved in the generation and sale of bulk power to various Power Utilities. Its other business includes providing project management / construction contracts/ consultancy assignment services and trading of power. [1][2]
PowerPower