GAIL (India) Limited Share Price & Analysis
Price Chart
Fundamentals
Strengths
- Attractively valued vs sector (P/E 11.5x vs industry 26.8x)
- Low debt relative to equity (D/E 0.3x)
- Regular dividends — yield 3.2%
Concerns
Today's Price Action
The stock trades at ₹173.4, unchanged on the day. Volume registers 3,878,093 shares, matching the 20‑day average, indicating neutral participation. The unchanged price despite average volume suggests a balance between buying and selling pressure.
Valuation Snapshot
GAIL posts a trailing P/E of 11.4, comfortably below the broad sector average where the P/E is not disclosed. A return on equity of 8.71% signals modest profitability relative to its book value. A P/B of 0.9 implies the market values the company slightly below its book value, offering a margin of safety.
Key Levels to Watch
The current price sits near the upper end of the 52‑week range of ₹134 to ₹187, leaving limited upside before the resistance band. Open‑interest data on the nearby strike of ₹185 suggests a concentration of contracts that may act as a short‑term ceiling. The next major support lies around ₹150, where historical buying has occurred.
Chart Pattern
In the daily timeframe, the last ten sessions produced a Bearish Harami four days ago, a Morning Star five days ago, and an Evening Star nine days ago, each reflecting short‑term reversals within the price action. These three reversal candles occurred within a narrow 5% price band, highlighting a tightly constrained range.
Data Summary
The most recent metrics show a market capitalisation of zero crore, a price‑to‑book ratio below one, and a stable trading volume. The combination of a low P/E, modest ROE, and proximity to the 52‑week high defines the present valuation landscape. With a zero‑cruze market cap figure, the stock’s thin float and limited free‑float share count may affect liquidity. Investors should monitor quarterly earnings releases closely for.
Peer Comparison
| Company | CMP | Mkt Cap | P/E | P/B | ROE % | ROCE % | D/E |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RELIANCE Reliance Industries Limited | ₹1,322 | ₹17.9L Cr | 23.9 | 1.98 | 8.91 | 10.3 | 0.45 |
| ONGC Oil & Natural Gas Corporation Limited | ₹235 | ₹3.0L Cr | 6.75 | 0.79 | 11.6 | 14.2 | 0.48 |
| COALINDIA Coal India Limited | ₹415 | ₹2.6L Cr | 8.2 | 2.15 | 28.2 | 35 | 0.13 |
| IOC Indian Oil Corporation Limited | ₹138 | ₹1.9L Cr | 5.77 | 0.89 | 20.5 | 18.7 | 0.74 |
| BPCL Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited | ₹316 | ₹1.4L Cr | 8.84 | 1.37 | 28.8 | 25.6 | 0.56 |
| OIL Oil India Limited | ₹488 | ₹79K Cr | 9.51 | 1.37 | 12.2 | 11.5 | 0.64 |
| HINDPETRO Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited | ₹357 | ₹76K Cr | 45.4 | 1.16 | 30.9 | 22.2 | 1.11 |
Showing 7 peers in the same sector · Sorted by market cap
Shareholding Pattern
GAIL · as of Mar 2026
| Category | Dec 2024 | Mar 2025 | Jun 2025 | Sep 2025 | Dec 2025 | Mar 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Promoters | 51.90% | 51.90% | 51.92% | 51.92% | 51.90% | 51.88% |
| FII | 14.24% | 14.17% | 15.20% | 16.79% | 16.05% | 14.79% |
| DII | 19.37% | 19.56% | 18.13% | 16.92% | 17.59% | 19.02% |
| Public | 6.58% | 6.75% | 7.14% | 6.76% | 6.84% | 6.68% |
| Govt | 7.92% | 7.63% | 7.63% | 7.62% | 7.61% | 7.61% |
Corporate Events
Dividend - Re 0.50 Per Share
To consider the Un-Audited Financial Results (Standalone &Consolidated) for the Quarter ended 30.06.2026.
To consider and approve the financial results for the period ended March 31, 2026
Board to consider dividend
Interim Dividend - Rs 5 Per Share
Dividend - Re 1 Per Share
Interim Dividend - Rs 6.50 Per Share
Interim Dividend - Rs 5.50 Per Share
Latest News
All newsGAIL appoints new management team
*GAIL appoints new management team* following a corporate restructuring. The change is part of a strategic reshuffle, though operational continuity is expected. No financial impact disclosed yet. 📊 *STOCKS:* $GAIL | 🏢 *SECTOR:* Energy | #MEDIUMIMPACT #ManagementChange
GAIL reports financial results for quarter ended Jun 30, 2026
*GAIL reports financial results for quarter ended Jun 30, 2026.* The company has submitted its financial performance to the exchange, indicating routine quarterly disclosure. Traders will assess revenue, profit margins, and volume trends for guidance on future performance. No major surprises reported yet. 📊 *STOCKS:* $GAIL | 🏢 *SECTOR:* Energy | #MEDIUMIMPACT #Earnings
GAIL informs exchange about scheme of arrangement
*GAIL informs exchange about scheme of arrangement.* The company has disclosed a proposed scheme of arrangement, typically involving structural reorganization. Such moves can impact shareholding pattern or business segmentation with **potential long-term implications**. Traders may anticipate volatility around approvals or clarifications. 📊 *STOCKS:* $GAIL | 🏢 *SECTOR:* Energy | #MEDIUMIMPACT #Scheme
GAIL profit more than doubles on gas marketing growth
*GAIL profit more than doubles on gas marketing growth.* Net profit surged to **₹2,987 crore** from ₹1,239 crore YoY, driven by a **42% rise** in natural gas marketing volumes. Revenue from operations increased by **38%** to ₹38,470 crore. Strong performance reflects robust demand and improved margins in energy distribution. 📊 *STOCKS:* $GAIL | 🏢 *SECTOR:* Energy | #HIGHIMPACT #Earnings
Magellanic Cloud subsidiary wins order from GAIL India
Magellanic Cloud Limited announced its wholly owned subsidiary, Provigil Surveillance Limited, secured a purchase order from GAIL India. The order marks a strategic win in the energy infrastructure space. While financial details were not disclosed, the development signals growth potential. 📊 *STOCKS:* $MAGELLAN | 🏢 *SECTOR:* Energy | #MEDIUMIMPACT #order
Provigil Surveillance wins purchase order from GAIL India
*Provigil Surveillance wins purchase order from GAIL India.* Provigil Surveillance, a wholly owned subsidiary of Magellanic Cloud Limited, has received a purchase order from GAIL India. This order marks a strategic development in surveillance services. Financial terms were not disclosed. 📊 *STOCKS:* $MAGELLAN | 🏢 *SECTOR:* CapitalMarkets | #MEDIUMIMPACT #OrderWin
S.K. Sinha takes charge as Director (Finance) at GAIL
*S.K. Sinha takes charge as Director (Finance) at GAIL.* GAIL (India) Limited announced that Shri S.K. Sinha has assumed the role of Director (Finance) with effect from July 01, 2026. The appointment marks a leadership change in the company’s financial oversight. This development reflects internal restructuring and may influence investor sentiment around governance. 📊 *STOCKS:* GAIL | 🏢 *SECTOR:* Energy | #MEDIUMIMPACT #LeadershipChange
GAIL submits AGM minutes and voting results to NSE
*GAIL submits AGM minutes and voting results to NSE*. GAIL (India) Limited has filed the scrutinizers' report of its Annual General Meeting held on **August 27, 2026**, with the stock exchange. The filing includes the official voting results. This is a routine corporate disclosure with no immediate financial implications. 📊 *STOCKS:* $GAIL | 🏢 *SECTOR:* Energy | #LOWIMPACT #AGM
India diversifies LNG sourcing to 15 nations amid supply risks
*India diversifies LNG sourcing to 15 nations amid supply risks.* The government is expanding liquefied natural gas (LNG) imports from **15 countries** to reduce geopolitical risks and ensure energy security. This move aims to broaden supply channels and stabilize pricing amid global volatility. State-owned firms like GAIL and Indian Oil may benefit from diversified procurement. 📊 *STOCKS:* | 🏢 *SECTOR:* Energy | #MEDIUMIMPACT #LNG
GAIL sets dividend record date for September 2026
*GAIL sets dividend record date for September 2026.* The company has informed the exchange that **02-Sep-2026** is the record date for dividend distribution. This is a routine corporate action with no immediate financial impact. Shareholders registered on that date will be eligible for dividends. 📊 *STOCKS:* $GAIL | 🏢 *SECTOR:* Energy | #LOWIMPACT #Dividend
Financials
Quarterly Results
| Metric | Dec 2025 | Sep 2025 | Jun 2025 | Mar 2025 | Dec 2024 | Sep 2024 | Jun 2024 | Mar 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | ₹35.2K Cr 1.0% | ₹35.5K Cr 0.6% | ₹35.3K Cr 3.1% | ₹36.4K Cr 1.1% | ₹36.8K Cr 8.7% | ₹33.9K Cr 2.4% | ₹34.7K Cr 6.1% | ₹32.8K Cr |
| Op. Profit | ₹2.9K Cr 15.4% | ₹3.5K Cr 5.7% | ₹3.7K Cr 4.1% | ₹3.5K Cr 11.3% | ₹3.2K Cr 19.5% | ₹3.9K Cr 17.8% | ₹4.8K Cr 24.4% | ₹3.8K Cr |
| OPM | 8.0% 20.0% | 10.0% 0.0% | 10.0% 0.0% | 10.0% 11.1% | 9.0% 25.0% | 12.0% 14.3% | 14.0% 16.7% | 12.0% |
| Net Profit | ₹1.7K Cr 13.1% | ₹2.0K Cr 16.5% | ₹2.4K Cr 4.9% | ₹2.5K Cr 38.6% | ₹4.1K Cr 51.8% | ₹2.7K Cr 15.5% | ₹3.2K Cr 28.7% | ₹2.5K Cr |
| EPS (₹) | 2.67 11.0% | 3 16.7% | 3.6 5.0% | 3.79 39.0% | 6.21 51.5% | 4.1 15.3% | 4.84 29.1% | 3.75 |
Values in ₹ Cr · Source: Screener.in
Annual Profit & Loss
| Metric | Mar 2026 | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 | Mar 2022 | Mar 2021 | Mar 2020 | Mar 2019 | Mar 2018 | Mar 2017 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | ₹1.4L Cr 0.2% | ₹1.4L Cr 6.5% | ₹1.3L Cr 8.5% | ₹1.5L Cr 57.0% | ₹92.8K Cr 61.7% | ₹57.4K Cr 20.9% | ₹72.5K Cr 4.8% | ₹76.2K Cr 39.8% | ₹54.5K Cr 12.2% | ₹48.6K Cr |
| Expenses | ₹1.3L Cr 2.9% | ₹1.3L Cr 6.4% | ₹1.2L Cr 13.9% | ₹1.4L Cr 78.0% | ₹77.6K Cr 54.8% | ₹50.1K Cr 21.1% | ₹63.5K Cr 4.2% | ₹66.3K Cr 41.9% | ₹46.7K Cr 9.8% | ₹42.5K Cr |
| Op. Profit | ₹11.5K Cr 25.4% | ₹15.4K Cr 7.7% | ₹14.3K Cr 90.9% | ₹7.5K Cr 50.5% | ₹15.2K Cr 109.3% | ₹7.2K Cr 19.7% | ₹9.0K Cr 9.2% | ₹9.9K Cr 27.4% | ₹7.8K Cr 29.6% | ₹6.0K Cr |
| OPM | 8.0% 27.3% | 11.0% 0.0% | 11.0% 120.0% | 5.0% 68.8% | 16.0% 23.1% | 13.0% 8.3% | 12.0% 7.7% | 13.0% 7.1% | 14.0% 16.7% | 12.0% |
| Other Income | ₹3.0K Cr 42.1% | ₹5.2K Cr 95.5% | ₹2.7K Cr 5.3% | ₹2.8K Cr 3.5% | ₹2.9K Cr 3.2% | ₹2.8K Cr 25.4% | ₹3.8K Cr 120.8% | ₹1.7K Cr 81.3% | ₹948 Cr 21.8% | ₹1.2K Cr |
| Interest | ₹964 Cr 30.3% | ₹740 Cr 2.9% | ₹719 Cr 97.0% | ₹365 Cr 80.7% | ₹202 Cr 12.8% | ₹179 Cr 42.1% | ₹309 Cr 94.3% | ₹159 Cr 46.1% | ₹295 Cr 42.0% | ₹509 Cr |
| Depreciation | ₹3.8K Cr 0.9% | ₹3.8K Cr 3.5% | ₹3.7K Cr 35.9% | ₹2.7K Cr 11.7% | ₹2.4K Cr 11.3% | ₹2.2K Cr 4.5% | ₹2.1K Cr 24.8% | ₹1.7K Cr 9.2% | ₹1.5K Cr 0.9% | ₹1.5K Cr |
| PBT | ₹9.7K Cr 39.6% | ₹16.1K Cr 27.8% | ₹12.6K Cr 73.6% | ₹7.3K Cr 53.1% | ₹15.5K Cr 100.2% | ₹7.7K Cr 25.9% | ₹10.4K Cr 6.1% | ₹9.8K Cr 41.9% | ₹6.9K Cr 33.7% | ₹5.2K Cr |
| Tax % | 22.0% 4.3% | 23.0% 9.5% | 21.0% 8.7% | 23.0% 15.0% | 20.0% 0.0% | 20.0% 122.2% | 9.0% 72.7% | 33.0% 6.5% | 31.0% 11.4% | 35.0% |
| Net Profit | ₹7.6K Cr 39.2% | ₹12.5K Cr 25.9% | ₹9.9K Cr 77.0% | ₹5.6K Cr 54.5% | ₹12.3K Cr 100.3% | ₹6.1K Cr 35.4% | ₹9.5K Cr 45.2% | ₹6.6K Cr 36.4% | ₹4.8K Cr 42.4% | ₹3.4K Cr |
| EPS (₹) | 11.53 39.1% | 18.93 25.7% | 15.06 76.3% | 8.54 53.6% | 18.4 99.8% | 9.21 33.9% | 13.93 43.9% | 9.68 36.5% | 7.09 42.4% | 4.98 |
| Div Payout | 48.0% 20.0% | 40.0% 8.1% | 37.0% 37.3% | 59.0% 63.9% | 36.0% 0.0% | 36.0% 16.1% | 31.0% 24.0% | 25.0% 41.9% | 43.0% 23.2% | 56.0% |
Values in ₹ Cr · Source: Screener.in
Balance Sheet
| Item | Sep 2025 | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 | Mar 2022 | Mar 2021 | Mar 2020 | Mar 2019 | Mar 2018 | Mar 2017 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Liabilities | ||||||||||
| Equity Capital | ₹6.6K Cr 0.0% | ₹6.6K Cr 0.0% | ₹6.6K Cr 0.0% | ₹6.6K Cr 48.1% | ₹4.4K Cr 0.0% | ₹4.4K Cr 1.6% | ₹4.5K Cr 100.0% | ₹2.3K Cr 0.0% | ₹2.3K Cr 33.4% | ₹1.7K Cr |
| Reserves | ₹81.6K Cr 4.0% | ₹78.4K Cr 11.4% | ₹70.4K Cr 20.7% | ₹58.4K Cr 2.2% | ₹59.7K Cr 22.4% | ₹48.7K Cr 8.9% | ₹44.8K Cr 2.3% | ₹43.7K Cr 11.0% | ₹39.4K Cr 4.8% | ₹37.6K Cr |
| Borrowings | ₹22.4K Cr 3.9% | ₹21.6K Cr 0.9% | ₹21.8K Cr 22.3% | ₹17.8K Cr 93.3% | ₹9.2K Cr 17.1% | ₹7.9K Cr 13.9% | ₹6.9K Cr 210.8% | ₹2.2K Cr 42.6% | ₹3.9K Cr 40.9% | ₹6.6K Cr |
| Other Liabilities | ₹25.9K Cr 2.6% | ₹26.6K Cr 2.5% | ₹25.9K Cr 3.5% | ₹25.1K Cr 7.8% | ₹23.3K Cr 16.4% | ₹20.0K Cr 6.5% | ₹18.8K Cr 7.2% | ₹20.2K Cr 27.9% | ₹15.8K Cr 27.1% | ₹12.4K Cr |
| Total Liabilities | ₹1.4L Cr 2.5% | ₹1.3L Cr 6.8% | ₹1.2L Cr 15.7% | ₹1.1L Cr 11.6% | ₹96.6K Cr 19.2% | ₹81.0K Cr 8.1% | ₹74.9K Cr 9.5% | ₹68.4K Cr 11.5% | ₹61.4K Cr 5.3% | ₹58.3K Cr |
Assets | ||||||||||
| Fixed Assets | ₹59.8K Cr 1.6% | ₹58.8K Cr 6.6% | ₹55.2K Cr 11.0% | ₹49.7K Cr 11.5% | ₹44.6K Cr 8.3% | ₹41.2K Cr 7.7% | ₹38.2K Cr 16.9% | ₹32.7K Cr 7.3% | ₹30.5K Cr 1.3% | ₹30.1K Cr |
| CWIP | ₹28.0K Cr 2.3% | ₹27.4K Cr 16.1% | ₹23.6K Cr 41.9% | ₹16.6K Cr 7.5% | ₹15.5K Cr 15.6% | ₹13.4K Cr 14.9% | ₹11.7K Cr 19.8% | ₹9.7K Cr 64.0% | ₹5.9K Cr 43.9% | ₹4.1K Cr |
| Investments | ₹24.2K Cr 6.2% | ₹22.8K Cr 3.9% | ₹21.9K Cr 27.0% | ₹17.2K Cr 5.1% | ₹16.4K Cr 25.7% | ₹13.1K Cr 32.0% | ₹9.9K Cr 7.7% | ₹10.7K Cr 2.6% | ₹10.5K Cr 3.2% | ₹10.1K Cr |
| Other Assets | ₹24.5K Cr 1.3% | ₹24.2K Cr 0.6% | ₹24.0K Cr 0.8% | ₹24.2K Cr 20.4% | ₹20.1K Cr 50.0% | ₹13.4K Cr 11.4% | ₹15.1K Cr 0.8% | ₹15.3K Cr 5.4% | ₹14.5K Cr 3.8% | ₹13.9K Cr |
| Total Assets | ₹1.4L Cr 2.5% | ₹1.3L Cr 6.8% | ₹1.2L Cr 15.7% | ₹1.1L Cr 11.6% | ₹96.6K Cr 19.2% | ₹81.0K Cr 8.1% | ₹74.9K Cr 9.5% | ₹68.4K Cr 11.5% | ₹61.4K Cr 5.3% | ₹58.3K Cr |
Values in ₹ Cr · Source: Screener.in
Cash Flow Statement
| Item | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 | Mar 2022 | Mar 2021 | Mar 2020 | Mar 2019 | Mar 2018 | Mar 2017 | Mar 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating CF | ₹15.7K Cr 25.0% | ₹12.6K Cr 292.7% | ₹3.2K Cr 66.0% | ₹9.4K Cr 4.7% | ₹9.0K Cr 7.8% | ₹8.3K Cr 4.5% | ₹8.0K Cr 9.0% | ₹8.8K Cr 45.6% | ₹6.0K Cr 52.1% | ₹4.0K Cr |
| Investing CF | ₹-6.6K Cr 19.6% | ₹-8.2K Cr 10.4% | ₹-7.5K Cr 35.8% | ₹-5.5K Cr 18.3% | ₹-4.6K Cr 44.1% | ₹-8.3K Cr 45.6% | ₹-5.7K Cr 114.3% | ₹-2.7K Cr 696.4% | ₹-334 Cr 63.1% | ₹-904 Cr |
| Financing CF | ₹-8.9K Cr 158.6% | ₹-3.5K Cr 216.3% | ₹3.0K Cr 175.9% | ₹-3.9K Cr 12.8% | ₹-3.5K Cr 1335.2% | ₹281 Cr 108.4% | ₹-3.4K Cr 35.9% | ₹-5.3K Cr 0.4% | ₹-5.3K Cr 74.2% | ₹-3.0K Cr |
| Net Cash Flow | ₹171 Cr 81.0% | ₹902 Cr 170.7% | ₹-1.3K Cr 9915.4% | ₹13 Cr 98.5% | ₹882 Cr 168.9% | ₹328 Cr 130.3% | ₹-1.1K Cr 226.0% | ₹858 Cr 106.7% | ₹415 Cr 1331.0% | ₹29 Cr |
| Free Cash Flow | ₹7.8K Cr 7877.6% | ₹98 Cr 101.8% | ₹-5.5K Cr 323.6% | ₹2.5K Cr 25.0% | ₹3.3K Cr 471.8% | ₹-890 Cr 300.9% | ₹443 Cr 91.8% | ₹5.4K Cr 33.3% | ₹4.0K Cr 61.2% | ₹2.5K Cr |
Values in ₹ Cr · Source: Screener.in
Key Ratios History
| Metric | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 | Mar 2022 | Mar 2021 | Mar 2020 | Mar 2019 | Mar 2018 | Mar 2017 | Mar 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debtor Days | 27d 3.8% | 26d 3.7% | 27d 6.9% | 29d 31.8% | 22d 8.3% | 24d 14.3% | 21d 8.7% | 23d 9.5% | 21d 10.5% | 19d |
| Inventory Days | 20d 0.0% | 20d 17.6% | 17d 10.5% | 19d 24.0% | 25d 19.0% | 21d 31.3% | 16d 5.9% | 17d 0.0% | 17d 21.4% | 14d |
| Days Payable | 24d 9.1% | 22d 10.0% | 20d 28.6% | 28d 24.3% | 37d 48.0% | 25d 4.2% | 24d 31.4% | 35d 29.6% | 27d 8.0% | 25d |
| Cash Conv. Cycle | 22d 8.3% | 24d 4.3% | 23d 15.0% | 20d 100.0% | 10d 50.0% | 20d 53.8% | 13d 116.7% | 6d 45.5% | 11d 37.5% | 8d |
| Working Capital Days | -7d 12.5% | -8d 33.3% | -6d 0.0% | -6d 75.0% | -24d 140.0% | -10d 100.0% | -5d 79.2% | -24d 140.0% | -10d 41.2% | -17d |
| ROCE | 14.0% 6.7% | 15.0% 50.0% | 10.0% 56.5% | 23.0% 76.9% | 13.0% 35.0% | 20.0% 9.1% | 22.0% 37.5% | 16.0% 33.3% | 12.0% 50.0% | 8.0% |
Source: Screener.in · Lower days = better efficiency
Deep Dive Analysis
About GAIL (India) Limited
Incorporated in 1984, GAIL, a Government of India undertaking, is an integrated natural gas company in India. It owns over 11,500 km of natural gas pipelines, over 2300 km of LPG pipelines, six LPG gas-processing units and a petrochemicals facility. It also has a joint-venture interest in Petronet LNG Ltd, Ratnagiri Gas and Power Pvt Ltd, and in the CGD business in several cities. GAIL has wholly owned subsidiaries in Singapore and the US for expanding its presence outside India in the segments of LNG, petrochemical trading and shale gas assets.
Oil, Gas & Consumable FuelsGas